Crazy X-Stitcher Etc

June 4, 2009

030609 – 6Months 1Week 6 Days Trip to KKH

Filed under: Rants — xstitcherzo @ 5:08 pm

Another trip to KKH yesterday. The appointment was at 2.45pm. Since I knocked off during lunchtime. I had reached there around 1pm and decided to fill my tummy first after I have plenty of time before I am due. I decided to eat the Mee Rebus at the Kopitiam. It costs $3.00. The gravy was thicken with too much of cornstarch and it tasted sweet instead. And here I thought, food in hospital should be better prepared. Luckily, the chilli paste was the one that saves me from hurling the bowl of noodles back to the vendor. I had stocked with ample of chilli to burn my tongue to the point of I could feel the spicy taste of chilli rather than the sweet taste of the gravy.

After my extremely slow lunch…I decided to head down to Clinic C but along the way I saw that they were showing ‘The Price is Right” at Clinic B. Therefore, I stopped and watch until 2pm before I decided to present my appointment booklet. As usual, I needed to do my weight, urine and blood pressure checks. Normal urine test but blood pressure was on the high side of 136/86 done on manual, as the machine still cannot get a proper reading on my arms. And ho behold, I am down by 6.5kg. That is something cheerful to see.

After all that is done, I have to proceed to wait in the lounge for my number to be flashed on screen and doctor to look at me. The appointment was supposed to 2.45pm. The doctor saw me close to 4pm. I had already fallen asleep couple of times. I had to hear 2 foreign Indian women complained to the local Malay woman about their late in calling them for their supposed appointment at 3.20pm. She had arrived there, probably slightly earlier and had expected the doctor to see her on the appointed time. She was grumbling, flashing her eyes at the nurse. And asking, why she still had not been called and why the doctor insist on seeing others first. She even said that…what is the point of giving an appointed time if they have to wait. My point exactly but then…what should you expect…if you are paying subsidized rates and you expect to be served like a queen on golden platter.

Behind me, another young couples with the women’s sister along was talking and grumbling too. The boy had resorted to saying that the doctor’s are wasting their time by making them wait for so long. The woman keeps on saying that her stomach is in pain and she is going to faint. 1 hr passes by and she still has not fainted. Oh well/ So finally my turn…after all senses on my butt had failed, my number flashed. I do not bother knocking, as my butt in pain from all the waiting is more important than I be courteous to her. She asked me the usual questions. Any pain, bleeding, water discharge. I told her of my swollen feet. She had said…oh and told me to walked more and lift up my legs only. Then she told me that she was going to check the baby. Check the baby in that small room? Turns out that a corner, lays a small bed with retractable panel to lift up the leg.

I got up on the bed, the nurse applied gel and the doctor was figuring where to put that fetal Doppler over my tummy. After detecting the baby’s heartbeat…barely 1 min, the nurse declares that the baby is healthy and the doctor walks away, leaving the nurse to clean up the gel on my tummy. I asked her for my supply of Dopa and Obimin. All that is done in 5mins and I had to let my butt suffer for 2hrs.

Their lunch break would be over by 2pm and In between 2pm to 3pm, the doctor had seen only 2 patients of which both were Chinese and I even hear clearly that before they start the shifts that the nurse had discussed among themselves that one have to stationed with her as a translator. However, the way, the nurses expresses themselves…as though they have one quack doctor. My guess is she just passed out from Medical school as she needs the nurse to tell her that …oh ok…like that is all right…the heartbeat is normal. Barely even 1 min of putting that fetal doppler on my tummy.

Waited for my queue number to be flashed again but this time for payment. That is it for the visit. So I proceeded to the Kopitiam again as woman is feeling hungry and decided to go for the Indian rojak. I choose 5 items of 2 flour. It cost’s me $5.40. Quite decent but the gravy is sweet. They had like sago kind of thingy in the gravy. What is wrong with the food? Everything served with extra sugar. Are they panning of giving everyone diabetes to increase the ‘population’ in hospital.

So my next appointment would be on 29th June 2009. That would be in the morning as I am taking the Oral Glucose test. I am just wondering how am I supposed to down a cup of glucose when I complaint so much when there is sugar in my food.

1 Comment »

  1. The materials recounted some of the world’s best and most efficient fire extinguisher training systems are often in place, which also helps to strengthen family bond together by having the bikes out on the roof. fire extinguisher training regulations require that such defects and the repairs done be recorded. Firefighters respond quickly to save life, limb, and property, but life also.

    Comment by hearth safety — July 2, 2013 @ 4:48 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

